And the adventure begins

I’ve been in Ireland for about a week now, and so far, it has been a great experience. I haven’t had the chance to go outside of the city of Limerick; yet, I have still seen so much. I have been able to meet people from across the United States and students from countries like Germany, Denmark, France, and of course, Ireland.

Everyday, I have gone running on the trails that run parallel to the Shannon River, the longest river in Ireland. It is beautiful. The trail is surrounded by tall trees and green grass. I even found ruin of a tower while I was running. I just have to make sure the trail isn’t submerged by the Shannon River when it is overflowing!

The City Centre in Limerick reminds me a lot of San Francisco, just less crowded. I had the chance to visit the farmers market and buy local fresh fruit, as well as go in the popular Irish clothing stores (Penneys). Luckily it hasn’t rained all the much since arriving, but it is bound to happen. I have all my warm and waterproof clothes ready for when the rain arrives.

I cannot forget one of the most important aspects of the Irish culture: pubs and beer. I love the atmosphere within a pub; it is such a great place to meet new people and socialize. The pubs on campus, like Scholars and Stables, are so popular not only within the student body, but also with those who live in Limerick. There is one night on campus that is very popular and that is International Night. Every Friday night, all the international and Irish students meet up at the pub to socialize, drink, and dance. I was able to experience my first International Night this past Friday and I know that it will be one of my favorite nights of this semester.

This weekend I am going to the Cliffs of Moher with other international students. I cannot wait to add this new experience to my list of adventures for the semester.

Leave a Reply

